On-Premise Term Licenses Update

Last Modified : September 1, 2020

With our joint customers’ focus directed toward the Cloud, and on-premise customers increasingly moving toward perpetual licenses, Oracle has made a strategic decision to eliminate on-premise term licenses, providing streamlined product and licensing selections when placing on-premise orders. Effective September 1, 2020 Oracle will no longer offer on-premise term licenses (1-5 year terms), with the exception of key Oracle Technology products that will retain 1-year term licenses (see list below).


  1. What happens to my customers who are paying support on their term licenses?
    Existing customers paying support on their term licenses will remain supported through the end of their term
  2. Are perpetual licenses affected by this announcement?
    No, perpetual licenses are not affected by this announcement. Term upgrades to perpetual licenses remain (e.g., migrating from a 4-year term license to a perpetual license), however migrations from 1-year term to perpetual license are discontinued
  3. Can I upgrade my term license to a longer term license?
    No, upgrades to longer term licenses are discontinued (e.g., migrating a 2-year term to a 5-year term)

The below list of products will continue to be licensed using 1-year term licenses

  • Exadata Storage Server Software
  • Oracle Active Data Guard
  • Oracle Advanced Compression
  • Oracle Advanced Security
  • Oracle Database Enterprise Edition
  • Oracle Database In-Memory
  • Oracle Database Standard Edition 2
  • Oracle Database Vault
  • Oracle Diagnostics Pack
  • Oracle Forms and Reports
  • Oracle GoldenGate
  • Oracle Internet Application Server Enterprise Edition
  • Oracle Multitenant
  • Oracle OLAP
  • Oracle Partitioning
  • Oracle Real Application Clusters
  • Oracle Real Application Clusters One Node
  • Oracle Real Application Testing
  • Oracle SOA Suite for Oracle Middleware
  • Oracle Tuning Pack
  • Oracle WebLogic Server Enterprise Edition
  • Oracle WebLogic Server Standard Edition
  • Oracle WebLogic Suite